In my opinion and experience, there is a big difference between collaboration and simply sharing. I am a huge proponent of both concepts, and constantly seek out new people and ways to engage in both. The online community is exceptional at sharing, and I am grateful for the opportunity to read, listen, download and comment on the almost overwhelming plethora of ideas being offered “out there”. However, I still crave and believe in the human aspect of putting our heads together and growing in the same direction for the betterment of ourselves and our students’ learning. It is something I call “Education Exponentiation”. I think this operation can only be done through a joint venture in actual collaboration. Whether it be “local” or “online”, the labor (of love, for me) can start with sharing, but for true collaboration, the idea and efforts need to be multiplied through a like-minded group to become more powerful.




Leave a Reply.